The Signet Ring: Giovanna vs. The English Gentleman

25.01.2012 § 4 Comments

Painting of an English Gentleman by Hans Eworth in 1546 and picture of Giovanna Battaglia by Garance Doré

I think it is rather fun to see more “fashionable” variations of the signet ring than the traditional coat of arms! What do you think: Tradition or Reinvention???

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to The Signet Ring: Giovanna vs. The English Gentleman

  • Hi Charlotte!
    I love Giovanna’s ring, it has been a bit of an obsession since I saw it in Garance’s blog, so I would go for reinvention!
    What do you think of Amedeo’s work? I would go for the little monkeys, they make me smile.

  • OnlyJewels says:

    It’s true the monkeys are cute! I wasn’t aware of his work. Thanks for sharing. Actually the only engraver I know is in Idar Oberstein. A talented and nice old man called Erwin Pauly.

  • That is a good tip! I will look him up. I have been entertaining the idea of having my own personalized ring for a while now.

  • OnlyJewels says:

    I think, historically, Paris was known to have the best engravers. Maybe there still are some very good ones today, but I haven’t done enough research yet for good addresses.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Signet Ring: Giovanna vs. The English Gentleman at OnlyJewels.

meta

