Vanity…

04.05.2011 § 2 Comments

I just started reading My Name Is Red by Orhan Pamuk, and the very first sentence of the novel is “I am nothing but a corpse now, a body at the bottom of a well.” Well, actually I am reading it in French so, for me, the first sentence wasMaintenant, je suis mon cadavre, un mort au fond d’un puit.” I’m not going to discuss which translation is best here, after all this is not a literary blog, but the words really struck me… more in French than in English! There.. I’ve said it! And at some point I came to think of vanity, like one often does when one thinks of death and I remembered this fantastic Kings and Queens collection of Victoire de Castellane for Dior



I love that self derision Victoire de Castellane put in her designs, as if she would be telling you: Jewels are just jewels and they will not turn you into anything else than what you are… But you know what? THEY STILL ARE WORTH IT! It’s her sense of humor I really like.

Le Squelette Joyeux – Lumiere

Images & Video :  Google Images, Youtube

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Vanity…

  • Wonderful post, Charlotte!!! I have always liked skulls and bones, because they remind me that we will all be equal in death. So, better waiting the final day with humor and diamonds:) I will publish your post on my blog, is it ok?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vanity… at OnlyJewels.

meta

