Siamese Twin Diamonds

14.08.2010 § 2 Comments

When one hears rough diamond, one immediately thinks of a beautiful perfect octahedron without a scratch or a breach. Truth is most are not, and this is not a bad thing otherwise I couldn’t show you this 8 carat marvel of nature.

This diamond will probably become a 3 carat color G and clarity SI1, once it will be polished into a pear shape. So its particularity does not lie in its quality, but in how it formed. If you look closely at the two last pictures (click on the picture to enlarge), you may notice that this diamond is actually two diamonds grown into each other. It reminds Siamese twins, don’t you think?

Pictures: Mine

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Siamese Twin Diamonds

  • K.Haze says:

    I know this post is nearly 2 years old but I found it via google-ing ‘rough diamond’ to get references for some 3D modeling and texturing I need to do for a game. I LOVE the look of these rough gems and contrary to what you said, I personally love the look of uncut and unpolished gems.

    I am a personal fan of natural beauty and as a photographer as well, I try really hard to take any photos I can using only natural light, regardless of the subject material – I would take those diamonds outside and photograph them on a crisp spring/winter day when the light has that pristine white tone.

    Anyway, I am reading more on your blog now after what I read about your diamonds. Very interesting. Thank you.

  • OnlyJewels says:

    Thanks! I haven’t shown any pictures from work in a long time.. I have a few in stock maybe I should show more. xxx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Siamese Twin Diamonds at OnlyJewels.

meta

